I am e

If you’re in the USA, type the title of this post into Google.  If you’re in HK, go to Google USA and do the same.  Wait for autofill to do the rest.  If you’re in China…well, if you’re in China, you may or may not be able to read this blog or use Google at all.  And that’s because if there’s anyone who’s extremely terrified of Chinese people, it’s Big Beijing.

I went to Shenzhen yesterday.  It was a day trip and I was working, so I didn’t get a chance to see much of the city.  Part of what I did see reminded me of my old home (the USA).  And part of what I saw made me really appreciate my new home (HK).

I’ve mentioned this before, but in Shenzhen I was constantly reminded of how cheap life is in China.  From the wreckless driving and biking to the stories of kidney theft, kidnapping and murder, Shenzhen is a dangerous place.  As far as the crime goes though, I think I’m pretty unlikely to be the victim of anything serious.  Chinese lives are cheap, but diplomatic trouble with the West is expensive.  In other words, killing a honky gets you in more trouble than killing a honkie.  And the people know this because the cops know this.  So yes, my passport and my skin keep me safe.  It’s not fair, but it’s reality.

In the USA, the same legal logic applied whenever I was the only white person in a “minority neighborhood” that white Americans would consider dangerous.

To all the white Americans who get freaked out when they’re suddenly in the minority: Just remember that they’re more afraid of you than you are of them.

3 responses to “I am e

  1. a teacher who has been in asia for ten years

    Would love to hear more about Shenzen

  2. My grammar is not as polished as your but you might find my last trip to Shenzhen enlightening, if not scary!

    http://faimao.blogspot.com/2009/01/untitled.html

  3. try

    I am n

    well…OK?

Leave a Reply

